Skip to content

Groove IO is in closed beta. We’re letting drummers in a few at a time, and opening to everyone before the end of 2026.Ask for a place →

Compared

Groove IO vs Score Drummer

Score Drummer plays your MIDI or Guitar Pro drum parts on an e-kit with real-time feedback, on Mac, Windows, iPad and iPhone. The table below compares it with Groove IO. The Score Drummer column was taken from the pages of Score Drummer on 29 September 2026.

“Your Drums. Your Songs. Your Score.”
Score Drummer, scoredrummer.com

Side by side

WhatScore DrummerGroove IO
E-kit MIDI input

Yes

Any kit or controller that sends standard MIDI notes over USB, with auto-detection and a mapping screen

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Any module that sends MIDI over USB; General MIDI map by default, any map learned by hitting each pad

Mic input

Not stated on their site

Microphone or audio input is not stated

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Calibrate once for your room and level

Own catalogue

No

Its FAQ says no songs are included; you import your own

scoredrummer.com

Partly

Warm-ups, ladders, a groove catalogue, forty rudiments, lessons and a community catalogue; no songs

Your own files

Partly

MIDI and Guitar Pro drum parts, with an audio backing track on Pro; PDF import is not stated

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Engraved PDF charts converted to scores; MIDI import; your own audio or a YouTube link

Scoring

Yes

Real-time per hit: Perfect, Good, Early, Late, Miss or Extra, plus a grade in Performance Mode

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Per drum against the score, wrong pads called out, verdict and tier at the end of the take

Teacher roster

No

No teacher account; the workflow is sharing MIDI or Guitar Pro files

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Educator: roster of 25, single-use invite links, sharing with a note, recordings with a feedback thread

Notation editor

Not stated on their site

A scrolling drum score is shown; editing is not stated

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Groove Studio: eleven drum voices, repeats, accents and ghosts, MIDI in and out

Web-based

Not stated on their site

macOS 12+, iPadOS 15+, iOS 15+, Windows 10+ apps

scoredrummer.com

Yes

Browser on a laptop or desktop. Chrome or Edge read live MIDI; Firefox needs its MIDI permission; Safari cannot read a kit live.

Each answer in the Score Drummer column links to the page it came from. “Not stated on their site” means we could not find it there on 29 September 2026. It does not mean no.

Which one to pick

Where Score Drummer is the better fit

Score Drummer is the better fit if your charts already exist as MIDI or Guitar Pro files and you prefer a one-off purchase to a subscription.

Where Groove IO is the better fit

Groove IO answers yes on mic input, teacher roster, notation editor and web-based. The Score Drummer site either rules these out or does not mention them.

Price

Score Drummer
Free tier; Score Drummer Pro is a one-time purchase of $34.99 on the App Store
apps.apple.com
Groove IO
Every plan is free during early access; Pro will be £7 a month.
See the plans

Prices are in the currency each site shows, as read on 29 September 2026.

How Groove IO differs from the others

Every plan is free while we’re in early access.

See the plans