Skip to content

Groove IO is in closed beta. We’re letting drummers in a few at a time, and opening to everyone before the end of 2026.Ask for a place →

Compared

How Groove IO is different

Groove IO listens to you play, on an e-kit or through a microphone, and scores the take against the notation. It does that for its own warm-ups, grooves and rudiments and for the charts you bring, in a browser, and it gives teachers a roster. It has no songs and no video lessons.

This page compares it with Melodics, Score Drummer, Soundslice, Drumeo and Beatlii. What it says about them was taken from their own websites on 29 September 2026, and each claim links to the page it came from.

Three kinds of product

Lesson libraries

Drumeo teaches by video. Melodics and Beatlii teach with interactive lessons that score you as you play. All three supply the material, and you work through it.

Tools for your own music

Score Drummer scores you against MIDI and Guitar Pro files you import. Soundslice turns sheet music into notation you can play back and edit, for any instrument, and does not score.

Groove IO

A practice platform. It has exercises of its own and a plan for working through them, it scores your own charts as well, and a teacher can set work and see whether it was done. The songs are yours to bring.

What only Groove IO does

Scoring is not unique to Groove IO. Melodics, Score Drummer and Beatlii read an e-kit, and Melodics listens through a microphone as well. What we did not find on any of their sites is the combinations below. Under each one is the closest thing the others describe.

At a glance

WhatGroove IOMelodicsScore DrummerSoundsliceDrumeoBeatlii
E-kit MIDI inputYesYesYesNoNot statedYes
Mic inputYesYesNot statedNoNot statedNo
Own cataloguePartlyYesNoNot statedYesYes
Your own filesYesNot statedPartlyYesNot statedNot stated
ScoringYesYesYesNoNoYes
Teacher rosterYesNot statedNoYesNot statedYes
Notation editorYesNot statedNot statedYesNot statedNot stated
Web-basedYesNot statedNot statedYesYesNot stated

“Not stated” means we could not find it on their website on 29 September 2026. It does not mean no. Each product’s own page has the detail behind every answer and the page it came from.

Which one to pick

Prices are in the currency each site shows, as read on 29 September 2026.

Every plan is free while we’re in early access.

See the plans