Skip to content

Groove IO is in closed beta. We’re letting drummers in a few at a time, and opening to everyone before the end of 2026.Ask for a place →

Compared

Groove IO vs Melodics

Melodics is a lesson app with its own catalogue of graded drum, keys and pad exercises for Windows, macOS, iPad and iPhone. The table below compares it with Groove IO. The Melodics column was taken from the pages of Melodics on 29 September 2026.

“The seriously satisfying practice app. For drums, keys and pads.”
Melodics, melodics.com

Side by side

WhatMelodicsGroove IO
E-kit MIDI input

Yes

Plug and play with custom MIDI mapping; named brands include Alesis, Roland, Yamaha and Simmons

melodics.com, support.melodics.com

Yes

Any module that sends MIDI over USB; General MIDI map by default, any map learned by hitting each pad

Mic input

Yes

Acoustic kits use audio-input calibration

melodics.com

Yes

Calibrate once for your room and level

Own catalogue

Yes

Over 2000 lessons and 200 courses, plus song lessons on Premium

melodics.com (1), melodics.com (2)

Partly

Warm-ups, ladders, a groove catalogue, forty rudiments, lessons and a community catalogue; no songs

Your own files

Not stated on their site

Import of your own PDF, MIDI or Guitar Pro files is not stated

melodics.com

Yes

Engraved PDF charts converted to scores; MIDI import; your own audio or a YouTube link

Scoring

Yes

Real-time per-note feedback: timing precision and note streaks, star ratings

support.melodics.com

Yes

Per drum against the score, wrong pads called out, verdict and tier at the end of the take

Teacher roster

Not stated on their site

The educators page says setting exercises and practice routines is easy for the educator; it does not state a student roster, per-student tracking or feedback on recordings.

melodics.com

Yes

Educator: roster of 25, single-use invite links, sharing with a note, recordings with a feedback thread

Notation editor

Not stated on their site

A setting reorders drums to match sheet-music convention; no staff notation editor is stated

support.melodics.com

Yes

Groove Studio: eleven drum voices, repeats, accents and ghosts, MIDI in and out

Web-based

Not stated on their site

Windows, macOS, iPad and iPhone apps; browser use not stated

melodics.com

Yes

Browser on a laptop or desktop. Chrome or Edge read live MIDI; Firefox needs its MIDI permission; Safari cannot read a kit live.

Each answer in the Melodics column links to the page it came from. “Not stated on their site” means we could not find it there on 29 September 2026. It does not mean no.

Which one to pick

Where Melodics is the better fit

Melodics is the better fit if you want a large, graded lesson catalogue and never plan to bring your own charts or audio.

Where Groove IO is the better fit

Groove IO answers yes on your own files, teacher roster, notation editor and web-based. The Melodics site either rules these out or does not mention them.

Price

Melodics
Standard from £8.33 a month billed annually (£99.99 a year); Premium from £10.99 a month billed annually
melodics.com
Groove IO
Every plan is free during early access; Pro will be £7 a month.
See the plans

Prices are in the currency each site shows, as read on 29 September 2026.

How Groove IO differs from the others

Every plan is free while we’re in early access.

See the plans