Skip to content

Groove IO is in closed beta. We’re letting drummers in a few at a time, and opening to everyone before the end of 2026.Ask for a place →

Compared

Groove IO vs Drumeo

Drumeo is a video lesson platform with over 2000 hours of drum lessons from named instructors and its own play-along song library. The table below compares it with Groove IO. The Drumeo column was taken from the pages of Drumeo and its publisher Musora’s help centre on 29 September 2026.

“Reach your drumming goals.”
Drumeo, drumeo.com

Side by side

WhatDrumeoGroove IO
E-kit MIDI input

Not stated on their site

MIDI is not required for the lessons and no listening feature is stated

faq.musora.com

Yes

Any module that sends MIDI over USB; General MIDI map by default, any map learned by hitting each pad

Mic input

Not stated on their site

No feature that listens to your playing is stated

drumeo.com

Yes

Calibrate once for your room and level

Own catalogue

Yes

Over 2000 hours of video lessons and more than 2500 transcribed songs

drumeo.com (1), drumeo.com (2)

Partly

Warm-ups, ladders, a groove catalogue, forty rudiments, lessons and a community catalogue; no songs

Your own files

Not stated on their site

Import of your own charts or audio is not stated

drumeo.com

Yes

Engraved PDF charts converted to scores; MIDI import; your own audio or a YouTube link

Scoring

No

No automated grading; instructors review submitted videos

faq.musora.com (1), faq.musora.com (2), drumeo.com

Yes

Per drum against the score, wrong pads called out, verdict and tier at the end of the take

Teacher roster

Not stated on their site

Instructor review by application; classroom tooling is not stated

drumeo.com, faq.musora.com

Yes

Educator: roster of 25, single-use invite links, sharing with a note, recordings with a feedback thread

Notation editor

Not stated on their site

Drumeo’s songs come transcribed; writing or editing notation is not stated

drumeo.com

Yes

Groove Studio: eleven drum voices, repeats, accents and ghosts, MIDI in and out

Web-based

Yes

Web, tablet and mobile, with iOS, iPadOS, macOS and Android apps

drumeo.com

Yes

Browser on a laptop or desktop. Chrome or Edge read live MIDI; Firefox needs its MIDI permission; Safari cannot read a kit live.

Each answer in the Drumeo column links to the page it came from. “Not stated on their site” means we could not find it there on 29 September 2026. It does not mean no.

Which one to pick

Where Drumeo is the better fit

Drumeo is the better fit if you want video lessons from well-known drummers, a large library of transcribed songs and a mentor to review your playing.

Where Groove IO is the better fit

Groove IO answers yes on E-kit MIDI input, mic input, your own files, scoring, teacher roster and notation editor. The Drumeo site either rules these out or does not mention them.

Price

Drumeo
$30 a month or $279 a year; a lessons-only plan without songs costs 17% less; 7-day free trial, no free tier
drumeo.com
Groove IO
Every plan is free during early access; Pro will be £7 a month.
See the plans

Prices are in the currency each site shows, as read on 29 September 2026.

How Groove IO differs from the others

Every plan is free while we’re in early access.

See the plans